The new four year term of the Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board is officially underway.

An inaugural mass, celebrated with Father Francis Ezenezi, and meeting Tuesday saw Judy Manitowabi and Barbara McCool acclaimed as chair and vice-chair respectively.

Fellow trustees include Leo de Jourdan (North Bay) who was acclaimed while returning to the board for another term are incumbents Jacques Bégin (East and South of the City of North Bay), Shawn Fitzsimmons (North Bay), Linda Jamieson (North Bay) and John Willemsen (West Nipissing).

Student Trustee 2018-2019, Kiley George, also took part in the inaugural Mass and meeting.

“Good Governance is the key to a progressive board, and the Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board will continue to follow the principles of policy governance. It is imperative that we embrace our leadership roles in our Catholic community both locally and provincially, that we focus on results to achieve positive outcomes, and continue to be fiscally responsible as Catholic School Board trustees,” said Judy Manitowabi, Chair.

The Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board serves approximately 2900 students in 11 elementary schools across North Bay, West Nipissing, Mattawa, Powassan and Callander, St. Joseph-Scollard Hall Catholic Secondary School and St. Joseph Adult Education campus, in North Bay.

(Photo submitted)

Meantime, at the Inaugural Meeting of the Near North District School Board Trustee Jay Aspin was acclaimed as Chair and Trustee John Cochrane was elected as Vice-Chair.
Aspin served as a Trustee for the NNDSB on two separate occasions for seven terms while Cochrane has volunteered in a variety of positions in the educational sector for many years.
And more recently, this summer marks the end of his twelve years as a governor on the Cambrian College Board of Governors.

Filed under: nipissing-parry-sound-catholic-district-school-board