Nipissing University has announced this year’s list of honourary degree recipients.

There are five in total and include Tom Jenkins, the board chair of the largest software company in Canada and Chair of the National Research Council of Canada.

Former NHL goalie Clint Malarchuk, who now speaks to audiences about mental health, PTSD, depression, suicide and his own struggles with mental illness is also receiving an honourary degree.

Another recipient is Dr Lynnette Leeseberg Stamler, who has practiced in numerous clinical areas and has taught all levels of nursing education is the founding Director of the Nipissing/Canadore Collaborative Baccalaureate in Nursing program.

Jeannette Corbiere Lavell, a founding member of the Ontario Native Women’s Association, who works tirelessly against injustice is also receiving an honourary degree along with Roy Slack, a professional engineer who launched Cementation’s operations in North America in 1998, serving as president.

Filed under: honourary-degrees, nipissing-university